Jasper, solo.

I stayed in the only hostel in Jasper which sat 8 kms out of town so I had to make use of the daily shuttle bus into town at 0800 and back out at 1800. This gave me ample time to sample the excellent cafes and then head out onto the hiking trails. On my first day I covered 12 kms heading out to Pyramid Lake and then Patricia Lake. I did get slightly concerned about the warnings of bears as I didn’t see a single person on the entire trail! I managed to find out that I had to make lots of noise and look scary, not difficult I hear you cry!!

On my second day I hiked to the top of Old Fort Point for 360o views of Jasper and the surrounding lakes and mountains, on my way back to town I followed the trails around a few of Jasper’s many lakes.

At 1630 I sat at the train station waiting for Hanna to arrive on the train ready to embark on a week of driving around the Rockies from Jasper through to the Icefields Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff and finally Calgary.

Leave a comment