Nanaimo, Vancouver Island

I started off by getting the bus from Downtown Vancouver to Horseshoe Bay, where I got the ferry to Nanaimo. It was still grey, overcast and wet so again the views weren’t great. I arrived in Nanaimo and found the Painted Turtle Guesthouse which is probably the nicest place I’ve stayed in so far (obviously excluding Hotel SO!). A brief walk around the small town made me wonder what I was going to do for 3 days! However, at least the weather was forecast to improve and there was going to be a Farmers Market the following day and a Boat Show on all weekend.

That said, the Farmer’s Market consisted of about 10 stalls and took about 10 minutes to see, and the Boat Show was the harbour area turning into what I would expect to see in any UK marina.

But, the sun was shining! SO I took full advantage and got the ferry to Newcastle Island, a small island which is now a marine park. It was a nice area to walk around ad finally see some of the stunning scenery that BC has to offer.

I then got the ferry from Newcastle Island to Protection Island, home to about 300 permanent residents but more importantly to the Dinghy Dock Pub! Apparently North America’s only floating pub. A perfect spot to soak up the sun and enjoy a nice pint!! Back at the hostel, I met Tina who was visiting from Oz and working for the British Red Cross, we went out for a couple of drinks at the Oxy Pub which I can only describe as a local place for local people!!!

On my last day in Nanaimo I got the ferry to Gabriola Island, unfortunately it is difficult to get around without a bike or car. I was surprised to find there wasn’t anywhere within walking distance to hire a bike. So I managed to cover one end of the island by foot and seeing a few of the artist studios before returning to Nanaimo. I spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing in the park, soaking up the sun and reading my book.

One Response to “Nanaimo, Vancouver Island”

  1. Mojito Mandy Says:

    Hi Philippa, I just wanted you to know I’m tuning in ;o) x

Leave a comment