Santa Cruz, it’s strange how things work out!

So I left San Luis Obispo early and travelled another 3 hours north to Santa Cruz. My planned stay of 3 nights here had to be cut down to 1 due to a film festival hitting town and causing a shortage of accomodation. I arrived at midday and spent half an hour dragging myself and all my bags to find the hostel, which was very nice. It was a short walk to the beach so I went to investigate. Apart from the hot sunshine, it reminded me of Southend seafront! After a walk along the pier I escaped the crowded beach front and walked into town, again unimpressive.

So it dawns on me that a week ago I was stressed at the prospect of having to stay 4 nights in Santa Barbara and only being able to have one night in Santa Cruz. I was stressing again about the fact that I was going to have to pay fees to change my travel dates as I had already booked the bus. I changed my travel dates in Santa Barbara, the nice man in the bus station let me off all charges. Santa Barbara turned out to be a stunning beach-front town. Santa Cruz turned out to be my idea of hell.

What can I say, it’s nice to have someone looking over you.

The only positive thing I have to say about Santa Cruz is that I had a very nice evening. I went to the cinema to see Then she was there, Helen Hunt, Colin firth and Bette Midler. I thought the film was great. I finished my evening with an outstanding Italian meal at Kiantis complete with some very nice red wine. It certainly made up for my disappointment in Santa Cruz!

2 Responses to “Santa Cruz, it’s strange how things work out!”

  1. Mum Says:

    Glad he’s still looking after you x

  2. philippastyles Says:

    Every step!

Leave a comment